Groundcrew Sheet 15

15 · The atlas

US and European robots

Nine robots from the companies that raise the most money, drawn to one scale, with what each one costs, who pays for it and how much of the story is still a plan.

36 min read13 figuresas of Sep 2026

The West raises the money and China ships the robots. Figure, Agility and Tesla shipped about 150 humanoids each in 2025 Omdia estimate, about 450 between them, while Unitree alone shipped more than 5,500. Yet Figure is valued at US$39 billion, more than anyone in China was worth until Unitree listed. What the Western companies are selling today is a bet on robot brains, on factories that are mostly still empty, and on a handful of paying pilots. This chapter shows you which bets have evidence behind them.

The field on one screen

~450humanoids shipped in 2025 by Figure, Agility and Tesla combined, about 150 eachOmdia via Visual Capitalist · estimate
US$39bnFigure AI post-money valuation, Series C, 16 Sep 2025figure.ai · verified
US$18.8bnrobotics startup venture money by 22 Jun 2026, already above all of 2025 (US$15bn)Crunchbase News · verified
1Western humanoid maker with a public-market path: Agility, by SPAC at US$2.5bnBusiness Wire, 24 Jun 2026 · verified

Three facts frame everything below. First, the money is enormous and concentrated: a few strategic investors (NVIDIA through NVentures, Jeff Bezos, SoftBank, Amazon) appear on almost every cap table, and the robot brain labs re-rate about three times per round verified. Second, the shipments are tiny: every Western maker's stated factory capacity (Tesla 1 million a year, Figure 12,000, Agility 10,000, Hyundai 30,000) runs one to three orders of magnitude ahead of what it shipped verified capacities. Third, the paying work is narrow: totes at GXO, sheet metal and parts sequencing at BMW, napkins at Din Tai Fung. Hold those three together whenever a valuation headline tempts you to think the market has decided.

FIG 15.1Who shipped humanoids in 2025Units, bars to scale
Unitree · CN5,500+ AgiBot · CN5,168 UBTech · CNabout 1,000 Figure AI · USabout 150 · valued at US$39bn Agility · USabout 150 · SPAC at US$2.5bn pre-money Tesla · USabout 150 · target was 5,000 02,500 units5,000 units
Claim: the three best-funded Western humanoid makers shipped about 450 robots between them in 2025, under a tenth of Unitree's 5,500+ Omdia estimate. Unitree's count is from its prospectus verified; AgiBot's and UBTech's are analyst counts. Totals for the whole world disagree, from about 13,000 (Omdia) to about 18,000 (IDC) contested. The bars grow to scale when the figure scrolls into view.
Common trap

Reading a Western valuation as a verdict on the robot. Figure's US$39 billion bought a brain lab, a factory and a data operation with about 150 robots shipped in 2025. The same investors marked Skild AI at more than US$14 billion on about US$30 million of reported revenue revenue unverified, about 470 times sales. Valuations here price who might own the robot brain in ten years. They say little about what a robot earns in a warehouse this quarter.

Nine robots to know

Seven humanoids, one dog and one pair of arms on a table. Each card links to a rigged drawing and a spec sheet. Every drawing uses one scale, 352 units per metre, so you can compare them in the line-up near the end. Heights are from maker pages unless chipped otherwise.

Figure AI: build every part yourself

Figure AI of San Jose was founded in 2022 by Brett Adcock, who had earlier founded the jobs marketplace Vettery and the air-taxi maker Archer Aviation. It raised more than US$1 billion at a US$39 billion post-money valuation on 16 Sep 2025 verified, led by Parkway with Brookfield, NVIDIA, Macquarie, Intel Capital, LG, Salesforce, T-Mobile Ventures and Qualcomm. Total money raised is about US$1.9 billion by one count and about US$2.34 billion by another contested. No new priced round appeared in 2026; on 3 Sep 2026 the cloud firm Nscale made an undisclosed strategic investment alongside a compute deal for up to 100,000 NVIDIA Vera Rubin GPUs in Texas from the second half of 2027, with an initial US$3.5 billion commitment verified.

Adcock's one-line strategy is "we can't outsource AI for the same reason we don't outsource actuators." Figure designs its own motors and actuators, battery, sensors, firmware, robot brain and factory. The reason is coupling: the brain's control rate, the camera latency and the hand's sense of touch all depend on each other, and Figure wants to tune them together rather than negotiate with three suppliers.

FIG 15.2Figure 03Side elevation · fold, then idle
2 kW inductive mat1.73 m1234567Figure 03schematic · 1.73 m
  • 1Head cameras behind the dark panel
  • 2Speaker and microphone for speech-to-speech
  • 32.3 kWh battery in the torso
  • 4Palm camera in each hand
  • 5Fingertip tactile sensors, 3 g
  • 6Charging coils in the feet, 2 kW 无线充电
  • 7Soft textile over foam
Schematic. Figure 03 is 1.73 m, eye level with an adult, and wears clothes: knit textile over multi-density foam, with no hard shells to pinch a hand. It walks onto a charging mat and folds a towel with both hands, the household task Helix 2.5 was tested on. The mat is the point of the drawing: coils in the soles take 2 kW, so no human ever plugs it in.
SpecFigure 03humanoidas of Sep 2026
Launched
9 Oct 2025 verified
Height, weight
1.73 m, 61 kg; 9% lighter than Figure 02 verified
Payload, speed
20 kg, 1.2 m/s verified
DoF
44 (robot directories) or 60 (Wikipedia); hands 16 or 20 each. Figure does not publish it contested
Battery
2.3 kWh, 5 h at peak; 78% cheaper than the Figure 02 pack; UN38.3 certified verified
Charging
2 kW wireless charging through coils in the feet verified
Sensors
new head cameras with 2x frame rate, a quarter of the latency and 60% wider field of view; a palm camera per hand; count not stated verified
Hands
five fingers, compliant tips, an in-house tactile sensor per fingertip that feels 3 g, a paperclip verified
Data link
10 Gbps mmWave wireless offload for fleet learning verified
Price
not listed; factory RaaS about US$1,000 a robot-month Sacra estimate; home lease "around $600 a month" Adcock statement
Status
350+ built by 29 Apr 2026; at BMW and Catalyst Brands verified

The brain: Helix

Helix is Figure's vision-language-action model, and its three versions trace the whole field's direction in eighteen months. Helix v1 (20 Feb 2025) was a dual-system design: a 7-billion-parameter vision-language model thinking at 7 to 9 Hz, feeding an 80-million-parameter motor policy at 200 Hz, trained on about 500 hours of teleoperation and controlling only the upper body verified. Helix 02 (27 Jan 2026) added a third layer, a 10-million-parameter whole-body controller running at 1 kHz, trained entirely in simulation across 200,000+ parallel environments, so the robot could walk and manipulate at once verified. Helix 2.5 (17 Sep 2026) threw out the pretrained language model and pretrained from scratch on human video instead.

Real

Helix 2.5 ran three behaviours (tidy a living room, fold towels, make beds) in 30 unseen Bay Area homes. Pretraining on Figure's Index video lifted zero-shot success rate from 9% to 56%, using half the task-specific data a Helix 02 behaviour needed company claim. Index is a phone app that pays people to film their own chores: 264,000 downloads in 108 countries, 44,000+ weekly contributors, 30 to 35 minutes of footage arriving every second verified.

ELI5

Figure stopped paying people to steer robots by remote control and started paying people to film themselves tidying up. The robot watched enough of those videos to get it right about half the time in homes it had never seen. Half is a big jump from one in ten, and still far from good enough to sell.

The factory and the customers

BotQ, unveiled 15 Mar 2025, is Figure's own plant: a first line rated at 12,000 robots a year, 150+ networked workstations on custom software, 50+ in-process inspection points, and a goal of 100,000 robots over four years verified. By 29 Apr 2026 Figure said it had delivered 350+ Figure 03s and moved from building one a day to one an hour in under 120 days verified. That is the fastest mass production ramp any Western maker has published, and it still means a few hundred robots in 2026 against a 12,000 line.

The flagship customer is BMW Spartanburg. Figure 02 loaded sheet metal in the body shop on 10-hour shifts for about 11 months, supporting 30,000+ BMW X3s and 90,000+ parts over about 1,250 operating hours, before retiring in Nov 2025 verified. Figure 03 moved to Hall 52 logistics in Jun 2026, picking parts from unsorted bins into sequencing trolleys verified. Catalyst Brands (JCPenney, Aéropostale, Brooks Brothers) signed a commercial agreement on 26 May 2026, starting at a Reno distribution centre, units and price undisclosed verified. BMW reportedly pays about US$25 per robot operating hour unverified.

Common trap

Treating a BMW headline as proof of scale. Fortune asked in Apr 2025 whether Adcock overstated the BMW deployment, and 1,250 hours over 11 months is about 4 hours a working day for one robot derived. In Nov 2025 Figure's former head of product safety sued, alleging he was fired for warning that the robots could fracture a human skull; Figure says he was fired for performance and the claims are unproven suit filed. The numbers that settle it are operating hours per robot per day and the injury and near-miss log.

Apptronik: own the body, rent the brain

Apptronik of Austin spun out of the University of Texas Human Centered Robotics Lab in 2016 and worked on NASA's Valkyrie before building Apollo. Chief executive Jeff Cardenas runs 350+ people verified. Its Series A grew in three steps, US$350 million (Feb 2025), about US$403 million more (Mar 2025, adding Mercedes-Benz) and US$520 million (11 Feb 2026, adding AT&T Ventures, John Deere and Qatar Investment Authority), to more than US$935 million and about US$1 billion raised overall verified. The last step valued it at US$5 billion (CNBC), about US$5.3 billion (TechCrunch) or more than US$5.5 billion (Bloomberg) contested.

Apptronik's strategy is the opposite of Figure's. It builds the body and the force-controlled actuators (35 electric actuator designs iterated, a "patented" design claimed at 90%+ energy efficiency company claim) and owns the customer. It partners out the brain to Google DeepMind and the factory to the contract manufacturer Jabil. The bet is that robot brains become a commodity, so capital spent on your own brain is capital wasted.

FIG 15.3Apptronik Apollo 2Side elevation · squat and lift
2x Orin1.73 mfrontdisplay1234567Apollo 2schematic · 1.73 m
  • 1Face panel, digital eyes, LED mouth
  • 2Swappable battery, 4 h each 换电
  • 3Chest display shows task and intent
  • 4Two Jetson Orin computers (Apollo 1)
  • 5Hip actuator, force controlled
  • 6Gripper on a standard flange
  • 7Knee actuator
Schematic. Apollo squats with its hips at about 60 degrees and knees at about 110, lifts a tote from a low rack with a level wrist, stands and shelves it. That squat is the job description: tote handling in car plants and warehouses, where the load starts near the floor. The chest screen and cartoon face exist so a worker can read what the robot will do next.
SpecApptronik Apollohumanoidas of Sep 2026
Versions
Apollo 1 unveiled 23 Aug 2023; Apollo 2 on 30 Jun 2026; Apollo 3, the "first true commercial product", due 2026 or within a year of Jun 2026 timing contested
Height, weight
1.73 m, 72.6 kg (Apollo 1; not restated for Apollo 2) verified
Payload
25 kg (Apollo 1) verified
DoF
about 71 unverified
Power
4 h per pack; battery swap, opportunity charging and a tether for "7x22" operation verified
Base
legs, or a wheeled base that meets existing mobile-robot safety standards verified
Compute
NVIDIA Jetson AGX Orin plus Orin NX (Apollo 1) unverified
Hands
grippers and end effectors; no five-finger spec published unverified
Price
not public; under US$50,000 at scale (2023 target); an investor projected about US$80,000 a year for 2027 unverified
Customers
Mercedes-Benz (agreement 15 Mar 2024, investor), GXO, Jabil, Google DeepMind verified

The brain is Gemini Robotics. Apptronik partnered with Google DeepMind on 19 Dec 2024, and Apollo is the body DeepMind trains on. Apollo 2 fleets gather data in a roughly 90,000 sq ft Robot Park in Austin and in Robot Parks inside DeepMind, Mercedes-Benz and GXO verified. DeepMind's own numbers for Gemini Robotics 2 whole-body picking on Apollo (Jul 2026) show where the ceiling is today: 68.4% from a table, 76.3% from a shelf, 45.7% from the floor company numbers. Apptronik keeps its own lower layers: Artemis for perception, planning, controls and safety, and Fleet Connect for fleet monitoring. Commercial volumes at Mercedes are targeted for 2027 unverified, and capacity is under 1,000 units unverified.

1X NEO: the home robot with a human inside

1X began as Halodi Robotics in Norway in 2014 and renamed itself in 2022 unverified. Chief executive Bernt Børnich is an actuator engineer. Confirmed funding is about US$136.5 million, including a US$100 million Series B at US$820 million post-money in Jan 2024 led by EQT Ventures verified. What happened next is disputed. One dossier says a raise of up to US$1 billion at about US$10 billion has been "in talks" since Sep 2025 without closing; another says the raise failed, bringing in less than half the target, and that SoftBank was negotiating a majority stake at about US$6 billion in Aug 2026 contested.

FIG 15.41X NEOSide elevation · lift and carry
Thor1.68 m1234567NEOschematic · 1.68 m
  • 1Two 8.85 MP stereo fisheye cameras, 90 Hz
  • 2Side light ring: Expert Mode is live
  • 3NEO Cortex, Jetson Thor
  • 4842 Wh battery, 4 h
  • 5Tendons from forearm motors to fingers 绳驱
  • 622 DoF hand
  • 7Knit nylon suit over a lattice polymer frame
Schematic. NEO weighs 30 kg, half a Figure 03, and moves like it: it stoops, lifts a laundry basket and carries it with a soft sway because its joints are pulled by tendons and give when pushed. Light and backdrivable is a safety decision for a robot that shares a living room with children.
Spec1X NEOhome humanoidas of Sep 2026
Height, weight
1.68 m, 30 kg verified
Strength
lifts 70 kg, carries 25 kg, 8 kg per arm verified
DoF
75: 22 per hand, 7 per arm, 3 neck, 2 spine, 6 per leg verified; an older "200+ DoF, 1,000+ actuators" claim conflicts contested
Speed, noise
walks 1.4 m/s, runs 6.2 m/s, hands 8.0 m/s; 22 dB verified
Battery
842 Wh, 4 h; quick charge 6 min per hour of runtime verified
Compute
NEO Cortex on NVIDIA Jetson Thor, up to 2,070 FP4 TFLOPS verified
Drive
tendon drive; hand motors in the forearm; only the hands are waterproof unverified
Price
US$20,000 early access or US$499 a month; US$200 refundable deposit verified
Orders
10,000+ pre-orders in five days after the 28 Oct 2025 launch, all refundable company claim; EQT deal for up to 10,000 NEOs across its portfolio, 2026 to 2030 verified
Status
zero verified customer deliveries as of 16 Jul 2026; US only, international in 2027 unverified

NEO's brain is Redwood, a vision-language-action model of about 160 million parameters that runs near 5 Hz on the robot and works offline parameter count unverified. When Redwood fails, Expert Mode takes over: a 1X employee in the US drives the robot through a VR headset, with the owner approving each session, a light on the robot's head showing it is live, and every session becoming training data. Since 12 Jan 2026 a world model predicts the visual result of an action before NEO takes it, and a World Model Lab opened on 4 Jun 2026 verified.

That is the business model and the data strategy at once, and it is the most honest design in the field. The Wall Street Journal's Joanna Stern found every household task in her Oct 2025 demo was teleoperated secondary report, and the "60 to 70% autonomy at launch" figure has no primary source contested. 1X also builds its own motors, batteries, structures and transmissions in a 58,000 sq ft Hayward factory opened on 30 Apr 2026, rated at 10,000 units a year with a target of 100,000+ a year by the end of 2027 verified.

Tesla Optimus: the loudest promise

Optimus has been a Tesla programme since 2021. Milan Kovac, its first public face, left in Jun 2025 and Ashok Elluswamy from the self-driving team took over verified. The record is a gap between words and units. Tesla targeted 5,000 robots in 2025 and built "several hundred"; Omdia counted about 150 shipped Omdia. Musk guided 50,000 to 100,000 for 2026 said, widely doubted. Tesla claims "over 1,000 units for Tesla facilities" while a blog tally puts 1,000 to 1,200 inside Fremont and Giga Texas with zero external sales contested. The third-generation robot was still unrevealed on 24 Sep 2026.

FIG 15.5Tesla Optimus Gen 2Side elevation · wave and finger sequence
2.3 kWh1.73 m1234567Optimus Gen 2schematic · 1.73 m
  • 1Black visor, camera-only vision
  • 2Shoulder, one of 14 rotary actuators
  • 32.3 kWh, 52 V pack and AI computer
  • 4Forearm with 25 tendon actuators (Gen 3)
  • 522 DoF hand, tactile tips (Gen 3)
  • 6Thigh linear actuator, roller screw 行星滚柱丝杠
  • 7Calf linear actuator, roller screw
Schematic. Drawn as the public Gen 2, since Gen 3 is unrevealed. Optimus walks in, raises a hand and curls each finger in turn through two joints, then makes a fist. The hand is where Tesla says the hard work is: Gen 3 moves 25 tiny actuators into each forearm and pulls the fingers by tendon, as the thicker forearm in the drawing shows.
SpecTesla Optimushumanoidas of Sep 2026
Height, weight
1.73 m, 57 kg; payload 20 kg (Gen 2 era) verified
Body actuators
28: 14 rotary with harmonic-type reducers, 14 linear with planetary roller screws for shock loads (AI Day 2022) Gen 1 and 2
Hands
Gen 2 11 DoF; Gen 3 22 DoF, 25 actuators per forearm, tendon driven Gen 3 unverified
Battery, power
2.3 kWh at 52 V; about 100 W idle, 500 W walking, 700 W+ loaded unverified
Compute, sensors
Tesla AI4 self-driving computer, moving to AI5; cameras only unverified
BOM
about US$46,000 with Chinese suppliers, US$131,000 without; hands about 17%, about US$9,500 Morgan Stanley
Price
US$20,000 to US$30,000 long-run target estimate
Capacity plans
Fremont first-generation line for 1 million a year; Giga Texas for 10 million a year from 2027 as plans
Status
Model S and X lines at Fremont decommissioned; Optimus lines installing; first builds go to "Optimus Academy" for training data, no customers Q2 2026 update

The engineering lesson is in the actuators and the bill of materials. Tesla chose linear roller-screw actuators for the big leg joints because a screw survives the shock of footfalls better than a small gearbox, and those screws are the hardest part to make at volume. Tesla has reportedly ordered about US$685 million of linear actuators from the Chinese supplier Sanhua, roughly enough for 180,000 robots, and Gen 3 is said to be about 70% Chinese content unverified. China's magnet export licences of 4 Apr 2025 slowed Optimus motor output, by Musk's own account verified. The brain is the self-driving recipe: video in, actions out, one end-to-end network.

Common trap

Counting Tesla's plans as supply. At the We, Robot event in Oct 2024, robots serving drinks were largely teleoperated and Tesla did not say so on the night reported. One tracker scored one of eleven Optimus promises kept from 2021 to 2025 unverified. Two skeptics are worth quoting: Rodney Brooks called catch-all humanoid helpers "pure fantasy thinking", and Chris Walti, the first Optimus lead, says humanoids are "multiple orders of magnitude" harder than self-driving. A supplier's "we supply Tesla" means little without a part number and a monthly volume.

Agility Digit: the one with a paying contract

Agility Robotics of Salem, Oregon, founded in 2015, is led by Peggy Johnson with co-founder Jonathan Hurst as Chief Robot Officer, about 450 staff verified. It raised more than US$390 million from Amazon, DCVC, SoftBank, Schaeffler, Foxconn, NVIDIA and others, then agreed on 24 Jun 2026 to go public by SPAC merger with Churchill Capital Corp XI at about US$2.5 billion pre-money, raising more than US$620 million under the ticker AGLT, with close expected by the end of 2026 verified. The filing is the only public window into a Western humanoid maker's finances: about US$100 million of 2025 cash burn, no disclosed revenue, more than US$300 million of multi-year Digit 5 orders covering 1,000 robots on three-year contracts, and 30 customers in the pipeline verified. The 1,000-robot customer is unnamed.

FIG 15.6Agility Digit 4Side elevation · carry a tote to a conveyor
conveyor1.75 m1234567Digitschematic · 1.75 m
  • 1Head with LED eyes, cameras, depth sensors
  • 2Chest display, intent cues
  • 3Arm; Digit 5 reaches 2.2 m
  • 4Battery; Digit 5 runs 90 min, charges in 9
  • 5Clamp hands on ISO flanges
  • 6Backward-bending knee
  • 7Small flat foot, no toes
Schematic. Digit 4, the one in the field today, walks in with a tote held low and sets it on a roller conveyor, which carries it away. That is the whole job, repeated 100,000 times at GXO. The reverse knees come from Agility's walking research robot Cassie and keep the heavy motors near the hip; clamp hands replace fingers because a tote needs a clamp.
SpecAgility Digit 5logistics humanoidas of Sep 2026
Unveiled
15 Sep 2026; early access in the first half of 2027, general availability end 2027, first EU and UK sales verified
Height, weight
1.81 m, 129 kg (Digit 4: about 1.75 m, 63 to 65 kg) preliminary
Reach, payload
2.2 m reach; 22.7 kg repeatedly, 40% more than Digit 4 preliminary
Power
90 min work, 9 min autonomous DC charge: a 10:1 run-to-charge ratio, 20+ productive hours a day (Digit 4: 2:1) verified
Hands
swappable grippers on ISO-standard flanges; no five-finger hands verified
Legs
revised design with cycloidal actuators; whether reverse knees stay is unconfirmed unverified
Safety
AI human detection that avoids, stops or sits down; independent safety controller; the previous Digit passed the first independent OSHA field evaluation of a humanoid verified
Price
RaaS about US$8,500 a month plus US$25,000 deployment; purchase about US$200,000 plus US$20,000 deployment plus US$36,000 a year for software and maintenance one trade report
Factory
RoboFab, 70,000 sq ft, capacity 10,000 a year; builds fewer than 100 a year today SEC filing

Agility's customers are the most concrete in the West. GXO signed the first formal humanoid RaaS contract in 2024 at a Spanx facility in Flowery Branch, Georgia, where Digits moved 100,000+ totes at about 98% accuracy by Nov 2025 verified. Toyota Motor Manufacturing Canada runs 7 Digits on RaaS unloading parts totes at its RAV4 plant (Feb 2026) verified; Schaeffler is a customer and investor; Amazon has run pilots. The fleet has logged 65,000+ operating hours verified.

Real

US$300 million over 1,000 robots and 36 months is about US$8,300 per robot-month derived, matching the reported US$8,500 list rate. Agility prices against a loaded US warehouse wage of about US$30 an hour and targets payback under two years estimate. On a purchase, US$36,000 a year of software and maintenance is 18% of the US$200,000 hardware price each year.

ELI5

A warehouse rents a Digit for about the cost of a car lease on a supercar each month, and Agility keeps it running. If you bought one instead, you would pay extra every year just to keep it fixed and updated, almost a fifth of the robot's price. That yearly fee is the slice of money a repair business would compete for.

Boston Dynamics: Atlas, Spot and a captive buyer

Boston Dynamics of Waltham, Massachusetts, founded in 1992, is now 100% owned by Hyundai Motor Group, which bought 80% from SoftBank in 2021 for about US$880 million and the last ~9.65% for US$325 million in Jun 2026, implying about US$3.4 billion verified. Revenue was about US$130 million in 2025, almost all from the Spot dog and the Stretch box-unloader verified. Robert Playter was chief executive as of Jan 2026 current role unverified. Its chief technology officer, Aaron Saunders, left in Nov 2025 to run hardware at Google DeepMind.

Hyundai is owner, factory builder, actuator supplier (through Hyundai Mobis, framework signed 7 Jan 2026) and buyer at once, which makes it the clearest captive customer in robotics. The Mobis release says actuators are "more than 60%" of a humanoid's material cost verified. All 2026 Atlas output goes to Hyundai and Google DeepMind; outside customers wait until 2027 verified.

Atlas (electric)

FIG 15.7Boston Dynamics AtlasSide elevation · torso and head through 360°
1.90 m1234567Atlasschematic · 1.90 m
  • 1Ring-light head; 360° cameras in the body
  • 2Sensor cluster at the chest
  • 3Battery, 4 h, swapped by the robot
  • 4Waist joint, continuous rotation
  • 5Three-finger gripper, swappable
  • 6Knee that bends both ways
  • 7IP67 sealed foot
Schematic. At 1.90 m Atlas stands half a head above an adult. Its upper body and then its head turn a full circle, and its knees bend backward: continuous-rotation joints have no end stop, so the robot can face the other way without stepping round. A factory robot needs to reach a part, and copying a human's limits would only slow it down.
SpecAtlas (production)factory humanoidas of Sep 2026
Shown
CES, Jan 2026; the hydraulic Atlas retired 16 Apr 2024 verified
Height, weight, reach
1.9 m, 90 kg, 2.3 m reach verified
DoF
56, several joints with continuous rotation verified
Payload
30 kg sustained, 50 kg peak verified
Battery
4 h; walks to a station and swaps its own pack in under about 3 min swap time unverified
Rugged
IP67, −20 to 40 °C verified
Sensors
tactile sensing and 360° camera view verified
Actuators
custom electric; roller screws and NdFeB magnets per Wikipedia unverified; Hyundai Mobis to supply
Brain
Gemini Robotics for cognition; Boston Dynamics writes the low-level control verified
Price
"below about US$320k" (two years of two US factory workers' pay); estimates US$150k to US$420k estimate
Deployment
RMAC training centre at Hyundai's Georgia Metaplant opened 21 Sep 2026; Hyundai plans 25,000 Atlas units and a US factory for 30,000 robots a year as plans

Spot

FIG 15.8Boston Dynamics SpotSide elevation · open a door
door, 0.9 m leafhandle 0.95 m0.84 m0.80 m body1234567Spot with armschematic · side elevation · 0.84 m standing
  • 1Stereo cameras, five pairs
  • 2Hip actuator, 3 DoF per leg
  • 3Lower leg, knee folds backward
  • 4Hind hip, same module
  • 5Arm, 6 DoF plus gripper, 0.98 m reach
  • 6Payload rail
  • 7Rubber foot, no ankle
Schematic. Spot trots to a door, presses the lever with the gripper on its arm and pushes through. Doors are why inspection customers buy it: a legged robot with an arm can patrol a plant built for people without anyone rebuilding the plant. Three motors per leg, identical front and back, keep the parts list short.

Spot is the Western legged robot that already earns money: 2,000+ units in 40+ countries verified, used for gauge reading, thermal checks and site patrols. Spot 5.2 software adds "embodied AI" for factories, and its visual inspection feature (AIVI) now runs on Gemini Robotics verified. Stretch, the wheeled box-unloader with a suction gripper, moves about 500 parcels an hour in 20+ facilities including DHL, Maersk, Gap, H&M and Otto verified. Neither is a humanoid, and together they pay for the Atlas programme. The price list for Spot is not in this chapter's sources.

Neura Robotics: Europe's full-stack bet, with Tether money

Neura Robotics of Metzingen, near Stuttgart, was founded on 26 Mar 2019 by David Reger, who still runs it. It already sells cobots (MAiRA, LARA) and a household robot (MiPA), and 4NE1 sits on top of that family. On 10 Jun 2026 it announced a Series C of up to US$1.4 billion, in milestone-gated tranches, from Tether, Qualcomm, Amazon, NVIDIA, Bosch, Schaeffler, the European Investment Bank and others verified. Whether Tether led is disputed, and so is the valuation: about US$7 billion by CNBC's figure and about €4 billion by Wikipedia's contested. The order book "exceeds $1 billion" and the 2026 plan was 6,000 humanoids company claims.

FIG 15.9Neura 4NE1 Gen 3Side elevation · lift a box
1.80 m12345674NE1schematic · 1.80 m
  • 1Visor band, 360° perception
  • 2Battery and compute at the back
  • 3Sensor skin that feels contact
  • 4Forearm module, exchangeable
  • 5Five-finger hand
  • 6Knee actuator, co-developed with Schaeffler
  • 7Flat foot; wheeled base optional
Schematic. 4NE1 walks in, lifts a box off a table with both arms and puts it back, while a scanning dot runs along its visor band. The seam at each forearm is the design idea: swap the forearm for a different tool, as a cobot swaps its end effector. The sensor skin lets it feel a person it touches.
SpecNeura 4NE1 Gen 3humanoidas of Sep 2026
Shown
Gen 3 at Automatica, Jun 2025; 4NE1 Mini at CES, Jan 2026 verified
Height, weight
1.80 m, 80 kg verified
Payload
"10 to 100 kg" as written on the maker's page; meaning unclear unclear
Speed
5 km/h verified
Sensing
360° perception; "Sensor Skin", a touch-sensitive electronic skin verified
Options
exchangeable forearms; wheeled base or a 7th axis; remote operation verified
DoF, hands, battery, compute, price
not public
Software
Neuraverse, a robot app and skills store; NEURA Gyms, real-world training sites funded by the Series C verified

Neura is buying its supply chain inside Germany: ACTIVE Shuttle from Bosch Rexroth (13 Aug 2026), ADLATUS Robotics (24 Aug 2026), and earlier B.A.H., ek robotics and Huber Automotive's development arm verified. That sells well to European buyers wary of Chinese parts. The crypto link matters to you: Tether's chief executive Paolo Ardoino described the investment in terms of edge intelligence and "machine native economic systems" that run "without centralized intermediaries" verified. It is the clearest case so far of a stablecoin treasury funding a humanoid maker. It is also a statement of intent, and no product in this chapter yet pays or gets paid on a blockchain.

Dyna Robotics: two arms, one boring job, a paying customer

Dyna Robotics of Redwood City, founded in 2024, is the counter-example to everything above. Lindon Gao and York Yang co-founded Caper AI, whose smart carts sold to Instacart for US$350 million in 2021; Jason Ma came from Google DeepMind verified. It raised a US$23.5 million seed at about US$100 million (Mar 2025) and a US$120 million Series A (15 Sep 2025), US$143.5 million in total verified; one source puts the Series A valuation above US$600 million while the company did not disclose it contested.

FIG 15.10Dyna napkin stationFront elevation · fold twice, stack
compute and powerRGB-D camera1.52 m1234567Dyna napkin stationschematic · front elevation · two 6-axis arms, 0.8 m table
  • 1Overhead RGB-D camera
  • 2Shoulder actuator, 6-axis arm
  • 3Elbow actuator
  • 4Napkin, folded twice then stacked
  • 5Parallel-jaw gripper
  • 6Compute and power under the table
  • 7Table frame bolted to the floor
Schematic. A bimanual station: two six-axis arms fold a napkin in half, in half again, and stack it under an overhead camera. No legs, no balance, no hands. Each unit costs tens of thousands of dollars against hundreds of thousands for rivals, and it runs 16 to 18 hours a day at one paid task.
SpecDyna stationstationary bimanualas of Sep 2026
Hardware
stationary stations with 6-DoF arms and parallel-jaw grippers; 20-DoF WUJI-2 hands and a semi-humanoid prototype in testing verified
Unit cost
"tens of thousands of dollars" verified; total cost of ownership target under US$50,000
Brain
DYNA-1 (Jun 2025) with a reward model that spots its own mistakes; Dyna-2 (15 Aug 2026), a "world-action model" verified
Endurance
24-hour run: 850+ napkins, 99.4% success, zero interventions, about 60% of human speed company claim
Din Tai Fung
1,590 table-ready napkins per 18-hour shift, 95 an hour at 93% quality pass; ROI threshold hit in 2025; rolling out to all locations (27 Aug 2026) company claim
Other claims
laundry 100 items an hour at 98%+ delivery-ready; dish sorting 180 an hour company claim
Fleet
"hundreds of robots" by the first half of 2027; 1 TB+ of raw data a day plan
Price
not public

Dyna-2 is the other big human-to-robot transfer claim of 2026. It was pretrained on 1 million+ hours of egocentric video, with 3D hand-pose tracking used as the action labels. Mean normalised performance across 14 tasks rose from 20% to 28% to 45% to 53% as pretraining grew from 1,000 to 10,000 to 100,000 to 1 million hours, and on zero-shot customer sites it passed 87% against DYNA-1's 46% company claims.

Key insight

Dyna published the most useful paragraph in Western robotics this year. In "the robotics bubble" (20 May 2026) it wrote that going from sale to reliable operation took "weeks-to-months of on-site engineering", that most of that work "didn't transfer cleanly to the next customer", and that its longest deployment was about 10 months of daily use verified. That on-site engineering is a cost every maker carries and none prices publicly. It is also the job a service company does.

Who owns the brain

Every company above has made one decision: build the robot brain, rent it, or buy it from a robot brain company. Figure, Tesla, 1X, Agility and Dyna build their own. Apptronik and Boston Dynamics rent Google DeepMind's. Physical Intelligence, Skild AI and NVIDIA sell to anyone and own no robot. Figure 15.11 draws the three routes and the one thing that decides who wins: where the data goes.

FIG 15.11Three ways to get a robot brainBlock diagram · commands out, data back
BrainBody 1 · Build it in-house Helix (Figure) · Redwood (1X) Tesla end-to-end net · Dyna-2 Agility's own stack Same company's robot Figure 03 · NEO · Optimus Digit · Dyna stations one brain, one body commands joints, 200 Hz to 1 kHz all data returns to the maker 2 · Rent it Gemini Robotics 2 Google DeepMind to partners, closed weights Partners' robots Apptronik Apollo 2 Boston Dynamics Atlas, Spot Robot Parks feed DeepMind plans and acts; body maker writes balance data flows to the brain owner too 3 · Buy it from a brain company π0.7 (Physical Intelligence) Skild Brain · GR00T (NVIDIA) some open weights: openpi, GR00T Anyone's robot ALOHA, Franka, Trossen arms Foxconn lines · Fetch AMRs humanoids, dogs, arms skills sold as software or API calls fleet data trains the next model Upper line of each pair: commands out, left to right. Lower line: data back. Orange: data leaves the body maker.
Claim: the body maker that rents a brain hands its data to the brain owner. Apptronik's Robot Parks run inside Google DeepMind; Boston Dynamics' Spot inspection runs on Gemini Robotics. The marching lines show commands going out and data coming back on every route; only the middle route sends the data to another company. This is why Figure calls outsourcing AI the same mistake as outsourcing actuators, and why Skild bought Zebra's Fetch robot unit on 15 Apr 2026: a brain company needs bodies to learn from verified.

Real

Every Western lab moved to human video in Aug and Sep 2026: Dyna-2 on 1M+ hours of head-camera footage (15 Aug), Helix 2.5 on Index phone video (17 Sep), 1X's World Model Lab (Jun) and Tesla's "Optimus Academy" (Jul). Figure and Dyna each claimed a human-to-robot scaling law within five weeks. Teleoperation moved from main fuel to fine-tuning company claims.

ELI5

A year ago the best way to teach a robot was to steer it by hand thousands of times. Now the labs think watching millions of hours of people doing things teaches most of it, and the robot only needs a little hands-on practice at the end. If they are right, cheap video beats expensive robot time.

Four ways to stay powered

A robot that works one shift is worth a third of one that works three. The Western makers chose four different answers to the same battery problem, and the choice shows up directly in paid hours per day. Figure 15.12 runs all six robots through one 24-hour day from a full battery.

FIG 15.12One day on one battery strategy24 h timeline, work in grey, charging in orange
Digit 42:1 · 16 h Digit 510:1 · about 22 h 1X NEO6 min per h · about 22 h Figure 032 kW pad · about 20 h Apollo 2swap or tether · 22 h Atlasself swap · about 23.7 h 00:0006:0012:0018:0024:00 Dashed block on Apollo 2: hours outside its 22 h claim. Thin orange ticks: pack swaps.
Claim: charging strategy sets paid hours. At 10:1 Digit 5 and NEO lose about 2 hours a day to charging; Digit 4 at 2:1 loses 8 ratios verified. Figure 03's 2.3 kWh pack at 2 kW needs about 69 minutes from empty, so about 20 hours if it drains fully, more if it steps onto the pad during pauses, ignoring charge taper derived. Atlas swaps its own pack in about 3 minutes swap time unverified; Apollo 2 claims 22 hours with swaps, tether and top-ups. The orange playhead shows which robots are off the job at any moment of the day.

The rest of the field

Short cards for the other names in the field. Three of them (Persona, Foundation and Engineered Arts) are outside this primer's research files, so their lines carry no numbers; check them before you quote anything.

CompanyHQWhat it makesMoneyWhat to know
Sanctuary AIVancouverPhoenix Gen 8 humanoid: 1.70 m, 70 kg, 25 kg payload; hands with 21 active DoF driven by in-house miniature hydraulic valves>US$140m raised; last priced about US$221m to US$232m estimatethird chief executive in about 18 months (Daniel Friedmann, Jun 2026); sold its Apptronik stake, bought for US$10m in 2022, for about US$125m in Apr 2025 to fund itself; customers Magna and Canadian Tire; now pivoting to hands plus licensing its manipulation software to other makers' industrial robots verified. The hydraulic hand avoids rare-earth motors, and its leaks and seals are an unproven maintenance story.
Physical IntelligenceSan Franciscoπ robot brains; no robotabout US$1.07bn raised; US$5.6bn post (Nov 2025) verified; about US$1bn at >US$11bn "in talks" or "closed" contestedchief executive Karol Hausman, with Sergey Levine and Chelsea Finn; π0 (Oct 2024) is open source as openpi, the model most small teams fine-tune; π0.7 (16 Apr 2026) learned an air fryer from two related episodes and still needs step-by-step coaching; no revenue and "no commercialization timeline" verified
Skild AIPittsburghSkild Brain, an "omni-bodied" model sold as skill API calls; no robot of its ownabout US$1.85bn or >US$2bn raised; >US$14bn (Series C, 14 Jan 2026, SoftBank lead) verifiedchief executive Deepak Pathak, a CMU spinout; runs on Foxconn lines building NVIDIA servers in Houston; bought Zebra's Fetch robots and Symmetry software on 15 Apr 2026 to get a fleet; about US$30m revenue unverified
The Bot Companynot in sourceshome mobile manipulator for household tidyingUS$150m Series B at US$2bn (Mar 2025); about US$250m at >US$4bn in talks (Oct 2025) unverifiedfounded by Kyle Vogt, former chief executive of Cruise; a founder-pedigree valuation before a shipping product
HumanoidUKhumanoid robotsUS$152m at US$1.35bn (Forbes, 21 Jul 2026) headline onlyEurope's newest robot unicorn by that report; product details not researched for this primer
Persona AIHouston unverifiedhumanoids for heavy industrial work such as shipyards unverifiednot in sourcesnot covered by this primer's research as of Sep 2026
FoundationSan Francisco unverifiedPhantom humanoid, pitched at defence and industry unverifiednot in sourcesnot covered by this primer's research as of Sep 2026
Engineered ArtsUK unverifiedAmeca, an expressive humanoid face and upper body for exhibitions and research unverifiednot in sourcesan entertainment and research robot; not covered by this primer's research as of Sep 2026

To scale

FIG 15.13Nine robots and one personElevations at 352 units per metre
0.5 m 1.0 m 1.5 m Atlas1.90 m 4NE11.80 m Digit 41.75 m (Digit 5: 1.81 m) person1.75 m Figure 031.73 m Apollo1.73 m Optimus1.73 m NEO1.68 m Dyna station1.52 m with camera mast Spot0.84 m tall
Schematic. Every drawing on this page is 352 units per metre, so the line-up is true to scale. The Western humanoids cluster at adult height, 1.68 to 1.90 m, because they are built for shelves, carts and tools sized for people; China's cheapest robots are child-sized by contrast. Only Atlas is noticeably taller than the person, and only NEO is noticeably lighter than it looks: 30 kg against Atlas's 90 kg.

Side by side

RobotMakerHeightWeightDoFPayloadRuntime and chargingPriceBrainStatus, Sep 2026
Figure 03Figure AI1.73 m61 kg44 or 60 contested20 kg2.3 kWh, 5 h; 2 kW wirelessnot listed; ~US$1,000/mo RaaS est.Helix, in-house350+ built; BMW, Catalyst Brands
Apollo 1 and 2Apptronik1.73 m72.6 kg (A1)~71 unverified25 kg4 h per pack; swap, tether, top-upnot public; <US$50k targetGemini RoboticsRobot Park fleets; pilots at Mercedes, GXO, Jabil
NEO1X1.68 m30 kg7525 kg carry842 Wh, 4 h; 6 min per hUS$20,000 or US$499/moRedwood + Expert Modepre-orders; no verified deliveries
Optimus Gen 2Tesla1.73 m57 kg28 body + 11 per hand20 kg2.3 kWh unverifiedUS$20k to 30k targetend-to-end, in-houseGen 3 unrevealed; internal use only
Digit 5Agility1.81 m129 kgnot public22.7 kg90 min; 9 min charge (10:1)~US$8,500/mo + US$25k reportedin-house>US$300m orders; early access 2027
AtlasBoston Dynamics1.90 m90 kg5630 kg (50 peak)4 h; self swap<~US$320k est.Gemini Robotics2026 output all to Hyundai and DeepMind
SpotBoston Dynamics0.84 mnot in sources12 legs + 6 armnot in sourcesnot in sourcesnot in sourcesAIVI on Gemini Robotics2,000+ units, 40+ countries
4NE1 Gen 3Neura1.80 m80 kgnot public"10 to 100 kg"not publicnot publicin-house, Neuraverseorder book >US$1bn claimed
Dyna stationDyna1.52 m with mastfixed2 × 6 + grippersnapkins, towelsmains power, 16 to 18 h shifts<US$50k TCO targetDYNA-1, Dyna-2Din Tai Fung, all locations
Phoenix Gen 8Sanctuary1.70 m70 kg21 per hand25 kgnot publicnot publicCarbon, in-housepivot to hands and licensing

Read the table by its empty cells. The Western makers publish heights and weights and hide prices, degrees of freedom and battery sizes. The only prices a buyer can act on today are NEO's US$20,000 and US$499 a month, Agility's reported RaaS rate, and Figure's stated home lease plan. For any pilot deployment you broker, the missing cells are your first questions.

What the Western robots teach

Five patterns repeat across the nine robots.

  1. Maintenance is priced inside the rental. Agility charges about US$36,000 a year for software and maintenance on a purchased Digit, and Dyna says every new site needs weeks to months of engineers. Those are the best public anchors for what an independent after-sales or third-party repair service would compete with.
  2. Real paid work is narrow and boring. Totes, parts sequencing, napkins. The robot with the clearest return on investment in this chapter has no legs.
  3. Capacity is a press release. A 12,000-robot line that built a few hundred, a 10,000-robot RoboFab building under 100. Judge a maker by delivered units and operating hours per robot per day.
  4. Humans are still in the loop. NEO ships with Expert Mode, Apollo trains in Robot Parks with teleoperators, Tesla's party robots were teleoperated. Every autonomy claim needs its intervention rate next to it.
  5. Everyone buys Chinese parts or fears the magnet licence. Optimus is reportedly about 70% Chinese content, Tesla's motors stalled on China's magnet rules, and 1X and Figure build motors in-house partly to reduce that exposure.

Terms in this chapter

English中文 + pinyinELI5Real definition
Robots as a service (RaaS)机器人即服务jīqìrén jí fúwùYou rent the robot by the month instead of buying it. The maker keeps fixing it, updating it and swapping parts, and you pay while it works.A subscription contract that bundles the robot, its software, updates, maintenance and often an uptime promise into one monthly fee, so the customer books operating cost instead of capital. Reported Digit price as of Sep 2026: about US$8,500 a month plus a US$25,000 deployment fee. Shenzhen sales people usually say 租赁 (rental) or the English letters RaaS.
Pilot deployment试点部署shìdiǎn bùshǔA small trial: a few robots on one site for a few months, to see whether they earn their keep before anyone signs a big order.A limited trial, usually 1 to 10 robots at one customer site, run to measure task success, throughput, uptime and integration cost before a commercial rollout. Most western humanoid customers in Sep 2026 are pilots; Agility's GXO contract and Dyna's Din Tai Fung rollout are among the few that converted.
Humanoid form factorThe decision to build a robot with two legs, two arms and a head so it fits the doors, stairs, shelves and tools already made for people.A design choice that trades mechanical simplicity for compatibility with human spaces: 1.6 to 1.9 m tall, roughly human reach and payload, bipedal or with a wheeled lower body. Apptronik and Neura both offer wheeled variants because a flat factory floor does not need legs.
HelixFigure's robot brain. A slow part reads the scene and the instruction a few times a second, a fast part moves the joints hundreds of times a second, and since 2026 a reflex layer keeps it balanced a thousand times a second.Figure AI's in-house vision-language-action system. Helix (Feb 2025): a 7B vision-language model at 7 to 9 Hz plus an 80M visuomotor policy at 200 Hz. Helix 02 (Jan 2026) added a 10M-parameter whole-body controller at 1 kHz trained in simulation. Helix 2.5 (Sep 2026) is pretrained on Figure's Index human video and ran three household tasks zero-shot in 30 unseen homes at 56% success.
BotQFigure's own robot factory. A line rated for up to 12,000 robots a year, where the robots are meant to help build robots.Figure AI's manufacturing facility, unveiled 15 Mar 2025: a first-generation line rated at 12,000 humanoids a year, 150+ networked workstations on custom manufacturing software and 50+ in-process inspection points. Figure reported 350+ Figure 03 units delivered and a build rate that rose from one a day to one an hour by 29 Apr 2026.
RedwoodThe small brain inside 1X's NEO. It runs on the robot's own chip a few times a second, and hands over to a remote human when it is stuck.1X Technologies' onboard vision-language-action model for NEO: about 160M parameters running near 5 Hz on the robot's Jetson Thor, covering navigation, doors, retrieval and whole-body coordination. Paired with Expert Mode teleoperation and, since Jan 2026, a 1X World Model that predicts the visual result of an action before the robot takes it.
Figure IndexA phone app that pays ordinary people to film themselves doing chores. Figure feeds the video to its robot brain instead of paying teleoperators.Figure AI's crowd data operation, public since 25 Aug 2026: 264,000 downloads in 108 countries, 44,000+ weekly contributors and 30 to 35 minutes of first-person video ingested every second, cleaned by a five-stage filtering, fraud, dedup, rebalancing and annotation pipeline. Helix 2.5 was pretrained on it.
Expert ModeWhen NEO cannot do a job, a 1X employee puts on a VR headset and drives the robot from far away. The owner approves it, and the session becomes training data.1X's remote teleoperation service for NEO: an operator in the US takes control through VR when the onboard model fails, with owner approval per session, blurring of people and no-go zones. It fills the autonomy gap at launch and doubles as the company's data collection channel.
Gemini RoboticsGoogle DeepMind's robot brain, lent to robot makers. Apptronik's Apollo and Boston Dynamics' Atlas both think with it.Google DeepMind's family of vision-language-action and embodied-reasoning models (Mar 2025; 1.5 in Sep 2025; 2 on 30 Jul 2026 with whole-body humanoid control). Distributed to partners rather than open-sourced. Apptronik and Boston Dynamics are the two western humanoid makers that outsource cognition to it.
SPAC mergerA shortcut to the stock market: a shell company that already has listed shares merges with the startup, and the startup takes over the listing.A merger with a special-purpose acquisition company, used instead of an IPO. Agility Robotics agreed a SPAC merger with Churchill Capital Corp XI on 24 Jun 2026 at US$2.5bn pre-money, raising over US$620m under the ticker AGLT, the first public-market path for a western humanoid maker.
Wireless charging无线充电wúxiàn chōngdiànThe robot stands on a mat and power flows up through coils in its feet, so nobody has to plug it in.Inductive power transfer through coils in the robot's soles to a floor pad. Figure 03 charges at 2 kW this way, enough to keep a 2.3 kWh pack topped up if the robot steps onto a pad during a shift.
Run-to-charge ratioHow many minutes of work you get for each minute plugged in. Ten to one means a nine-minute charge buys ninety minutes of work.Operating time divided by charging time over one cycle. Digit 5 claims 10:1 (90 min of work, 9 min of high-current DC charge), giving 20+ productive hours a day; Digit 4 was 2:1. NEO quotes 6 minutes of charge per hour of runtime, also about 10:1.
Continuous-rotation jointA joint that can spin all the way round, like a wheel, instead of stopping where a human elbow or hip would.A rotary joint with no mechanical end stop, which needs slip rings or a wireless link across the axis for power and data. The electric Atlas uses them so it can turn its torso to walk the other way or stand up from lying face down without a human-like sequence.
Reverse kneeA leg that bends backward at the knee, like a bird. The heavy motors sit close to the hip, so the leg swings fast with less effort.A leg layout, inherited by Digit from Agility's Cassie, in which the knee points backward and the shin runs forward to the ankle. It keeps the heavy actuators near the hip, lowers leg inertia and lets the foot land under the body without copying a human gait.
Robot ParkA big practice hall where dozens of Apollo robots do real jobs all day, so the robot brain learns from them.Apptronik's data-collection sites, unveiled with Apollo 2 on 30 Jun 2026: a ~90,000 sq ft facility in Austin plus Robot Parks inside Google DeepMind, Mercedes-Benz and GXO, where Apollo 2 fleets run a mix of teleoperated and autonomous work to produce training data for Gemini Robotics.
RoboFabAgility's own robot factory in Oregon. It could build 10,000 robots a year, and today it builds fewer than 100.Agility Robotics' 70,000 sq ft factory in Salem, Oregon, with a stated capacity of 10,000 Digits a year. Agility's SPAC filing (26 Aug 2026) says it builds fewer than 100 robots a year today and expects triple digits next year.
Captive customerA buyer that also owns the seller, so the sale is guaranteed but proves little about whether strangers would buy.A customer that controls the supplier through ownership. Hyundai owns 100% of Boston Dynamics, supplies its actuators through Hyundai Mobis and takes all 2026 Atlas output with Google DeepMind. Guaranteed volume; no open-market price discovery.
Robot brain company机器人大脑公司jīqìrén dànǎo gōngsīA company that makes only the robot's thinking software and sells it to anyone who builds a body, the way Microsoft sold Windows to PC makers.A firm that trains a robot foundation model and licenses it across embodiments without building its own robot: Physical Intelligence (π models), Skild AI (Skild Brain), NVIDIA (GR00T). Their valuations re-rated about 3x per round in 2025 to 2026 on little or no revenue.
Human-to-robot transferTeaching a robot by showing it lots of videos of people doing chores, then giving it only a little robot practice.Pretraining a robot policy on video of humans (head-camera or phone footage with hand-pose labels) and fine-tuning on a smaller amount of robot data. Dyna-2 (15 Aug 2026, 1M+ hours) and Figure Helix 2.5 (17 Sep 2026, Index video) each claimed a scaling law for it within five weeks of each other. Company claims, not independently tested.
Bimanual station双臂工作站shuāngbì gōngzuòzhànTwo robot arms bolted to one table, working together like two hands, doing one job all day.A fixed work cell with two arms (often 6-DoF with parallel-jaw grippers) and an overhead camera. Dyna Robotics sells these for napkin and towel folding at tens of thousands of dollars each, against hundreds of thousands for a humanoid.
Opportunity chargingTopping up the battery for a few minutes whenever the robot has a gap, like plugging in your phone during lunch.Short partial charges taken during natural pauses in work rather than one long charge from empty. Apollo 2 combines it with pack swaps and a tether for 22 h a day; Figure 03 does it by stepping onto a 2 kW inductive pad.
Third-party repairAn independent garage fixing your robot instead of the company that made it or its official dealer.Maintenance and repair by a firm other than the maker or its authorised partner. For robots it can void the warranty (Pudu voids cover for maintenance under unofficial guidance) and usually lacks the maker's diagnostic tools. Independents hold about 50% of elevator service units and reached 50% of US imaging service spend in 2022.
Sources for this chapter
  1. Figure AI, Series C: https://www.figure.ai/news/series-c
  2. Figure AI, Introducing Figure 03: https://www.figure.ai/news/introducing-figure-03
  3. Figure AI, Figure 03 spec strip: https://www.figure.ai/figure
  4. Figure AI, F.03 battery development: https://www.figure.ai/news/f-03-battery-development
  5. Figure AI, Ramping Figure 03 production: https://www.figure.ai/news/ramping-figure-03-production
  6. Figure AI, Helix 2.5: https://www.figure.ai/news/helix-2-5-zero-shot-30-home-generalization
  7. Figure AI, Introducing Index: https://www.figure.ai/news/introducing-index
  8. Figure AI, Nscale partnership: https://www.figure.ai/news/figure-and-nscale-sign-strategic-partnership
  9. Figure AI, F.03 at BMW: https://www.figure.ai/news/f-03-at-bmw
  10. Figure AI, Catalyst Brands agreement: https://www.figure.ai/news/figure-signs-agreement-with-catalyst-brands
  11. BMW Group release, 25 Jun 2026: https://www.press.bmwgroup.com/canada/article/attachment/T0458794EN/651051
  12. CNBC, Figure AI sued, 21 Nov 2025: https://www.cnbc.com/2025/11/21/figure-ai-sued.html
  13. Wikipedia, Figure AI: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Figure_AI
  14. Apptronik, Series A: https://apptronik.com/news-collection/apptronik-closes-over-935-million-series-a
  15. Apptronik, Apollo unveil: https://apptronik.com/news-collection/apptronik-unveils-apollo
  16. Apptronik, Apollo 2: https://apptronik.com/apollo/apollo-2
  17. GlobeNewswire, Robot Park, 30 Jun 2026: https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/06/30/3319598/0/en/Welcome-to-Robot-Park-Where-Apptronik-s-Apollo-Goes-to-Work-Training-the-Next-Generation-of-Humanoid-Robot-Intelligence.html
  18. CNBC, Apptronik US$520m, 11 Feb 2026: https://www.cnbc.com/2026/02/11/apptronik-raises-520-million-at-5-billion-valuation-for-apollo-robot.html
  19. 1X, NEO: https://www.1x.tech/neo
  20. 1X, Series B: https://www.1x.tech/discover/1x-secures-100m-in-series-b-funding
  21. 1X, Redwood AI world model: https://www.1x.tech/discover/redwood-ai-world-model
  22. GlobeNewswire, 1X Hayward factory, 30 Apr 2026: https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2026/04/30/3285118/0/en/1x-opens-neo-factory-in-hayward-ca-america-s-first-vertically-integrated-humanoid-robot-factory-with-consumer-shipments-planned-for-2026.html
  23. Robozaps, 1X NEO review: https://blog.robozaps.com/b/1x-neo-review
  24. CXOVoice, SoftBank and 1X, 27 Aug 2026: https://cxovoice.com/softbank-in-talks-for-majority-stake-in-1x-valuing-robot-maker-at-6-billion/
  25. Forbes, 1X World Model Lab, 4 Jun 2026: https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnkoetsier/2026/06/04/1x-launches-humanoid-robot-world-model-lab-you-cant-fine-tune-your-way-to-agi/
  26. Wikipedia, Optimus (robot): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Optimus_(robot)
  27. Tesla Q2 2026 Update: https://assets-ir.tesla.com/tesla-contents/IR/TSLA-Q2-2026-Update.pdf
  28. Optimusk blog, Q2 2026 Optimus update: https://optimusk.blog/blog/tesla-q2-2026-earnings-optimus-update/
  29. Agility Robotics, Digit 5 unveiling: https://www.agilityrobotics.com/content/agility-unveils-digit-5-humanoid-robot-built-for-cooperatively-safe-work-at-scale
  30. Agility Robotics, Digit 5 product page: https://www.agilityrobotics.com/solutions/digit-5
  31. SEC Form 425, Churchill Capital Corp XI, 26 Aug 2026: https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/0002074973/000121390026094533/ea0303767-425_churchill11.htm
  32. Business Wire, Agility SPAC, 24 Jun 2026: https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20260624555633/en/Agility-Robotics-to-Go-Public-Through-$2.5-Billion-Merger-with-Churchill-Capital-Corp-XI
  33. GeekWire, Agility filings, 24 Jun 2026: https://www.geekwire.com/2026/digit-maker-agility-robotics-to-go-public-in-2-5b-deal-heres-what-the-filings-say-about-its-finances/
  34. Runtime Wire, Digit 5 and SPAC: https://runtimewire.com/article/agility-digit-5-humanoid-spac-safety
  35. The AI Insider, Digit 5 pricing, 15 Sep 2026: https://theaiinsider.tech/2026/09/15/agility-robotics-unveils-digit-5-with-higher-payload-faster-charging-and-new-safety-system/
  36. Boston Dynamics, Atlas: https://bostondynamics.com/products/atlas/
  37. Boston Dynamics, RMAC opening, 21 Sep 2026: https://bostondynamics.com/news/boston-dynamics-opens-robotics-metaplant-application-center-to-train-humanoid-robots-for-manufacturing-tasks/
  38. PR Newswire, Hyundai Mobis and Boston Dynamics: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/hyundai-mobis-forms-strategic-collaboration-framework-with-boston-dynamics-302656040.html
  39. Wikipedia, Atlas (robot): https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Atlas_(robot)
  40. Neura Robotics, Series C: https://neura-robotics.com/record-series-c/
  41. Neura Robotics, 4NE1: https://neura-robotics.com/products/4ne1
  42. Wikipedia, Neura Robotics: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Neura_Robotics
  43. Dyna Robotics, Series A: https://www.dyna.co/news/series-a
  44. Dyna Robotics, DYNA-1: https://www.dyna.co/research/dyna-1
  45. Dyna Robotics, Dyna-2: https://www.dyna.co/dyna-2
  46. Dyna Robotics, Scaling customer deployments: https://www.dyna.co/research/scaling-customer-deployments
  47. Dyna Robotics, The robotics bubble: https://www.dyna.co/news/robotics-bubble
  48. Fortune, Dyna seed, 25 Mar 2025: https://fortune.com/2025/03/25/exclusive-instacart-smart-cart-startup-350m-google-deepmind-low-cost-robots/
  49. Sanctuary AI news: https://www.sanctuary.ai/news
  50. Sacra, Physical Intelligence: https://sacra.com/c/physical-intelligence/
  51. TechCrunch, π0.7, 16 Apr 2026: https://techcrunch.com/2026/04/16/physical-intelligence-a-hot-robotics-startup-says-its-new-robot-brain-can-figure-out-tasks-it-was-never-taught/
  52. TechCrunch, Physical Intelligence rumour, 21 Jul 2026: https://techcrunch.com/2026/07/21/the-anthropic-physical-intelligence-rumor-roiling-ai-twitter/
  53. Physical Intelligence, openpi: https://github.com/Physical-Intelligence/openpi
  54. Skild AI: https://www.skild.ai/
  55. TechCrunch, Skild AI tag: https://techcrunch.com/tag/skild-ai/
  56. Forbes, Humanoid raises US$152m, 21 Jul 2026: https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnkoetsier/2026/07/21/humanoid-raises-152-million-at-135-billion-valuation-europes-newest-robot-unicorn/
  57. Robotics industry report (28 Jun 2026): shipments by Omdia, The Bot Company rounds, Tesla supply chain